hineHuang Yen-lin better known by her stage name A-Sun (a slang term for “old woman” in Taiwanese Hokkien), was a popular Taiwanese Mandopop singer-songwriter. She died in 2009 from breast cancer.

This song was released in 2003 as the popular ending theme for Taiwanese idol drama 薔薇之戀 or known as The Rose. Here’s the translation of the lyrics:

Leaves are the wings that can not fly
Wings are the leaves left behind in the sky
Heaven wasn’t meant to a be a delusion
It’s just that I have long forgotten
how to take flight

Loneliness is one person’s celebration
Celebration is a group of people’s loneliness
Love starts with being a companion
But I’m already slowly forgetting
how it was to have a companion
I eat, I travel, hang around alone
I also read, and write, and talk by myself
It’s just that the heart has drifted off somewhere
Even I couldn’t see
I think I’m not merely losing you

